top of page


The CPU will award up to 5 annual student scholarships of $250 each. 


To be eligible, applicants:

  1. Have an active CPU membership in good standing

  2. Either entering their first year of post-secondary education, in a full-time post-secondary program at an educational institution.

Previous Scholarship winners may not re-apply 

Application Procedure 

A complete application must include the following:

  • A copy of an official transcript of marks from the learning institution most recently attended (an electronic photocopy is sufficient).

  • A statement about your involvement in powerlifting, including but not limited to your accomplishments as an athlete in powerlifting, volunteerism, future goals and any significant contributions you have made. A statement about why you should receive the scholarship and your future education and career goals and what powerlifting means to you.

  • Copy of your current CPU membership

  • Applicants may submit letters of reference. (optional)


Please submit the application by email with your supporting documents by October 31 to:

Payment of Scholarship 

All applicants, successful or otherwise, will be notified by the Evaluation Committee. Awards will be applicable to the academic year commencing in September. The successful candidates will be notified by mid-November. A cheque will be forwarded to the successful applicant once confirmation of enrolment in a post-secondary institution is received. 

The CPU may use photos and names of recipients in promotional material. 

Previous Winners


Hameet Johal

Karen Ballesteros

Landyn Hickmott

Michael Pacis

Thomas Johnston


Derrick Van Every- Lehman College 

Karine St-Coeur – Atlantic College of Massage Therapy

Kevin Min – Western University

Deanna Cutler – Red River College

Madison Collins – Memorial University


Teresa Parsons - University of Alberta

Danielle Reid-Clavelle - Mount Royal University

Mohsyn Imran Malik - University of Western Ontario

Quinn Baxter - University of Waterloo

Sarah Strickland - Memorial University of Newfoundland

Nick Bray - University of Western Ontario
Randi-Lee Chase - Brandon University
Ryan Maclellan - Simon Fraser University
Tim Branch - University of British Columbia
Aileen Bishop - University of Alberta
Gracelynn Doogan - University of Guelph
Jensen MacDonald - Carleton University

Anna Schneider - University of Regina
Brandon Leclerc - University of Montreal
Elodie Morin - Cegep de Trois Rivieres
Mathew Shapiro - Fleming College

Jackson Spencer - Carleton University
Dakota Kellett - Carleton University
Adam Ramzy - UBC
Kevin Chu - UBC
Adam Manery - University of Western Ontario

Erik Willis - Carleton University
Clifton Pho - University of Alberta
Danielle Savoie - University of Alberta
David Forner - University of P.E.I.
Nicola Paviglianiti - University of Western Ontario

bottom of page